Posted in personal, reflection

April

April proved to be more challenging as a long-awaited family vacation for the April break saw me staying behind to deal with a family emergency. It was hard to send my boys off to warmer weather as we slogged through days of cold rain, but I tried to make the best of it. Despite the disappointment, I found some fun throughout the month:

  • Read Unsheltered by Barbara Kingsolver and Swimming at Suppertime by Carol Wasserman
  • Enjoyed the end of March Madness, including winning the bracket challenge.
  • Took in the annual baseball pancake breakfast fundraiser. Having your offspring serve you for a change never gets old.
  • Watched Fyre, The Greatest Party that Never Happened and binged All American
  • Caught a home improvement bug and re-did my kitchen backsplash
  • Watched a lot of baseball – both high school and the Major Leagues.  Words can’t express how emotional it was to see my son on the mound in a game for the first time.
  • Celebrated Easter with family (even got the teenager to color some eggs – old traditions die hard – or dye as the case may be)
  • Worked to get our track for HighEdWeb 2019 set and ready to rock, working with the most amazing group of friends & colleagues
  • Treated myself to the best pedicure that I’ve ever had
  • Explored the neighborhood with our beloved dog at my side, running up quite a streak of meeting my daily step goal
  • Spent an evening at our school’s annual dinner & auction with an amazing group of friends
  • Spent an afternoon watching my son play on the field at our minor league park, which included the bonus of catching up with so many old friends that were there waiting the start of the next game
  • Enjoyed nights at our favorite local eateries

At the end of the month, that time alone proved to me that it was time to accept the things I cannot change and make the best of what’s happening in the present. There were certainly some sad moments as my family relayed what they were doing, but in the end, I was at peace with myself.

Leave a comment